Empires Of The North
India Travel Guide

From: India Travel Guide

See also: Himalayan Foothills Golden Triangle

Empires of the North
The great Mughal Empire ruled from around 1526 to 1858 and all began after a successful campaign to commandeer Delhi by Zahiruddin Muhammad Babur Mirza who was the Timurid ruler of the region Ferghana and who claimed he was the riteful descendant to the throne of Delhi.

There were to be six monarchs in total who ruled and formed the Mughal empire. Babur was the first and ruled between 1526 to 1530 and was followed by his son Humayun from 1530 to 1556 when he was overthrown by sultan Sher Khan from Bengal but then regained his thrown from 1540 to 1555. Humayan's son Akbar is known for his lengthy rule between 1556 and 1605, during his reign he built several structures such as Agra Fort, Humayun's Tomb, Allahabad Fort and Palace and Lahore Fort and Palace.

Akbar was followed by his son Jehanagir who ruled between 1605 and 1627 building structures such as Akbars Tomb and Lahore Forts Moti Masjid. Shah Jehan ruled from 1627 to 1658 and Aurangzeb was the last Mughal leader and ruled from 1658 to 1707. During his reign he built palaces and the Moti Masjid in Agra Fort, the superb Taj Mahal, Red Fort and the Jama Masjid in Delhi.

A bustling city that is filled with history, culture and colour. There is plenty to see and do in Delhi from visiting the historic sites, monuments and crowded bazaars to tasting some of India's culinary delights... more about Delhi

Uttar Pradesh
This vast region borders with Delhi and contains the superb Taj Mahal and the spiritually important Ganges river in Vernasi which is near the holy city of Shiva. There is also plenty to see in Agra such as Agra Fort and Fatehpur Sikri which was the Mughal empires former capitol city.